The Lapham Cup matches between Canada and the U.S.A., dating back to 1922, are believed to be one of the oldest amateur sporting events between two countries, having been played for 90 consecutive years. The Grant Trophy matches were inaugurated in 1945, the Crawford Trophy matches in 1999, and the Lawrence-Wilkins Trophy matches in 2001. […]

Team USA Claims Crawford Cup and Grant Trophy in Chicago

Team USA earned the Crawford Cup for women’s singles and doubles and Grant Trophy for men’s doubles in the ninety-seventh Lapham Grant Matches, April 19-22, at the Onwentsia Club, University Club of Chicago, Racquet Club of Chicago and the Casino Club in Illinois. The Lapham-Grant Matches consists of four dual matches—men’s singles competing for the […]

The Lapham-Grant Tradition by W. Stewart Brauns, Jr

Having had the honor of playing over twenty Lapham-Grant matches and having been the U.S. team captain, I was particularly pleased to be asked to write this article. More than anything else, there is no doubt the Lapham-Grant is steeped in tradition “pressed down and running over’. But before discussing tradition, I must first set […]

Squash bragging rights in the Americas

The grand old thing is bigger than the Stanley Cup and older than any other squash trophy in existence. It has the thousands of names engraved on it, dates and scores and champagne stains. It is the symbol of squash excellence and of patriotism and no small rivalry between the two countries on either side […]

U.S. Women Win Crawford Cup; Team Canada Sweeps Men’s Lapham-Grant Matches

The ninety-fifth Lapham-Grant Matches, or United States versus Canada Invitational Squash Challenge Matches, took place this weekend in New York City with the visiting Canadian teams taking all three men’s competitions, and the U.S. side claiming the women’s Crawford Cup. The Lapham-Grant Matches returned to New York City after a seventy-two-year hiatus. The Grant Trophy […]

Team Canada Sweeps Lapham-Grant Matches

Team Canada led the way in this year’s Lapham-Grant matches, hosted in London, Ontario, at the London Squash Club, this weekend, April 23-26, cruising to victory over Team USA with a 70-28 overall scoreline. The annual Lapham-Grant matches take place between four different competitions: the men’s singles competing for the Lapham Cup, men’s doubles competing for […]

2014 Lapham-Grant Philadelphia, PA

After a 67-year hiatus, the Lapham-Grant Matches returned to Philadelphia and The Merion Cricket Club the weekend of April 10th – 13th. The Lapham Trophy was last hosted by Merion in 1947 and the local squash community was eager to see the return of this prestigious international competition. And it was a triumphant weekend for […]

RECAP – 2013 Vancouver

Canada have won each of the four of the coveted Lapham-Grant trophies defeating the United States in the Lapham-Grant matches that took place April 28-30 at the Vancouver Lawn Tennis and Badminton Club in Vancouver, BC. In the men’s singles Lapham Cup matches, Canada defeated the United States with an overall match score of 18-5  […]

Lapham-Grant teams prepare to face off in Vancouver

The Unites States and Canadian teams for the Lapham-Grant matches have been announced, with the neighboring nations vying for a chance at the Lapham Cup, Grant Trophy, Crawford Trophy, and Lawrence-Wilkins Trophy in the tournament to be held this weekend. Taking place April 26-28 at the Vancouver Lawn Tennis and Badminton Club in Vancouver, BC, […]

PREVIEW ~ 2012 Atlanta

The 2012 Lapham-Grant Matches, together with the Lawrence-Wilkins and Crawford Cup Matches between Canada and the United States, will be held in Atlanta, Georgia over the weekend of March 15-18, 2012.  This will be the 90th anniversary of one of the oldest international sport competitions in the world.  The trophies consist of the Lapham Cup, […]

RECAP ~ 2011 Toronto

Lapham Grant Matches; one of the oldest amateur sporting events between two countries in world class style last weekend. The Lapham Grant, an annual squash tournament hosted in alternative years by Canada and the US, is a grand tradition dating back to 1922. The competition is intended to match teams of relative comparable ability in […]