The 2012 Lapham-Grant Matches, together with the Lawrence-Wilkins and Crawford Cup Matches between Canada and the United States, will be held in Atlanta, Georgia over the weekend of March 15-18, 2012.  This will be the 90th anniversary of one of the oldest international sport competitions in the world.  The trophies consist of the Lapham Cup, donated in 1922 by Henry Lapham of Brookline, Massachusetts for men’s singles, the Grant Trophy, donated in 1944 by Alastair Grant of Montreal, Quebec for men’s doubles and the Lawrence Wilkins Trophy, donated in 2001 by Edgar Bracht in honor of Canadian stalwart Barney Lawrence and the United States’ Howard Wilkins, for the Men’s Legend Doubles.  In 1999, Bill Crawford of Vancouver, B.C. donated The Crawford Cup for the inaugural Ladies’ Singles and Doubles events.

The weekend will be hosted at the Piedmont Driving Club (PDC).  Since 1887, the PDC has enjoyed a reputation as one of the most prestigious private clubs in the South.  The Driving Club and its members played a leading role in the 2008 U.S. Centennial Squash Nationals and hosted a memorable Lapham-Grant competition a decade ago.  The Driving Club has completed construction of new doubles and singles courts within the past year.

Given the benefits of March weather in Georgia, the weekend will include opportunities for golf, in addition to the singles and doubles squash events.  Play for the Lawrence Wilkins group will begin Friday morning, followed by initial matches in the Crawford, Lapham, and Grant divisions beginning around midday Friday.  A cocktail party Friday evening at the PDC will provide the opportunity for formal introduction of the teams.  Matches will continue all day Saturday and Sunday morning.  The traditional Black Tie dinner/dance will be held Saturday night at the club.  Competition will conclude with Sunday brunch and the traditional champagne sips for the victors.

The Lapham-Grant Chairman is Eben Hardie.  Co-Chairs are John Frazer and Doug Leeson.  Team Captain is Bob Burton, joined by Jack Wyant, captain of the Lawrence Wilkins team and Marie Vlcek, captain of the Crawford Cup events.


One Response

  1. Wow, marvelous blog layout! How lengthy have you ever been running a blog
    for? you make blogging glance easy. The total look of your site is magnificent, let alone the
    content! You can see similar here sklep

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *